US National Arboretum

 

 

Floral and Nursery Plants Research Unit

POSTDOCTORALS and SUPPORT SCIENTISTS

POSTDOCTORAL RESEARCH ASSOCIATES

Current Postdoctoral Research Associates include:

Abdelmonim Ebrahim
Molecular Pathologist
Abdelmonim.Ebrahim@ars.usda.gov

Connor Gulbronson
Electron Microscopist
Connor.Gulbronson@ars.usda.gov

Henry Guo
Plant Pathologist
Henry.Guo@ars.usda.gov

Chandra Thammina
Geneticist
Chandra.Thammina@ars.usda.gov

Paulo Vieira
Geneticist
Paulo.Vieira@ars.usda.gov


Some Previous PostDocs included:

SUPPORT SCIENTISTS

Mr. Ron Beck
Horticulturist
Ron.Beck@ars.usda.gov

Supports research on breeding and genetics of woody ornamental plants, including molecular markers and flow cytometry. Maintains molecular laboratory and conducts plant tissue culture experiments.

Ms. Susan E. Bentz
Horticulturist
Susan.Bentz@ars.usda.gov

Hybridizes and evaluates hemlock species for resistance to wooly adelgid. Develops techniques for propagating superior selections of disease and insect-resistant trees. Manages national tree distribution and evaluation program.

Dr. Robert Webster
Botanist
robert.d.webster@ars.usda.gov

Oversees the National Arboretum herbarium: collects and identifies plants, ensures that research material and living germplasm collections are represented by specimens in the herbarium, maintains and adds to the specimen database, and trains and assists Herbarium volunteers, and investigates the nomenclature of ornamental grasses.

Mr. Zheng-Lian Xia
Botanist
zheng-lian.xia@ars.usda.gov

Oversees genetic laboratory work for the taxonomy program, obtains comparative genetic marker profiles for estimating parentage of plants and genetic similarity of populations, and obtains DNA sequences for inferring relationships among tree species and accessions.

Research Unit Home Page || Mission & Goals || History || Locations
Scientists & Specialties || Postdoctorals & Support Scientists || Technical & Support Staff
Recent Accomplishments || Publications & Patents || New Plant Introductions
Woody Landscape Plants Germplasm Repository || National Herbarium

 Back to the Arboretum Home Page
Arboretum Information || Events & Education || Gardens & Horticulture || Research Activities
Support the Arboretum || New Plant Introductions || USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map || Comments
Search Our Site

Last Updated   February 9, 2017 8:09 AM
URL = http://www.usna.usda.gov/Research/postdoc&.html

narj
Please address any comments or questions regarding any portion of this web page by e-mail to the FNPRU site administrator